Maryland Correctional Training Center
Important Inmate Phone System Changes
As a result of a recent telephone vendor contract award, friends and family of inmates housed at all DPSCS correctional facilities should be aware of some minor disruptions in service in the coming weeks. With the introduction of this new vendor we hope to provide you improved inmate telephone services at the same, and in some cases, lower costs. This Advanced Pay brochure from the new vendor has been distributed to the inmate population and may be useful for you as well.
The actual change-over for MCTC will happen March 5, 2013. A six business day transitional period will take place February 28 through March 7, 2013, during which time inmates will only be able to make collect calls as no debit or pre-paid calls will be permitted. If no collect call account is set-up, the inmate will be unable to make calls that week. During the transitional period dates, inmates will also not be able to submit telephone vouchers.
Although the previous vendor Securus will transfer inmate balances (purchases made by inmates) during the cut-over period to the new vendor Global Tel* Link, family members will have to contact Securus directly for refunds on purchases they (family members) made from Securus in the past. If you currently have an account with Securus you may be receiving a call further explaining your options from the new vendor in the near future.
We apologize for any inconvenience this vendor transfer may cause in trying to reach a loved one at a DPSCS facility and thank you for your cooperation.
Contraband ~ Criminal Violations
Pursuant to Maryland's Criminal Law Article, Sections 9-410 and 9-412 through 9-417, it is unlawful for a person to possess, deliver, or possess with intent to deliver contraband in a place of confinement. Such items include but are not limited to telecommunication devices, contraband to effect an escape, weapons of any type, alcoholic beverages, controlled dangerous substances, and tobacco.
It is unlawful for a person to deposit or conceal a telecommunication device in or about a place of confinement with the intent that it be obtained by a person detained or confined.
Violators are subject to arrest and will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Upon conviction, violators are subject to imprisonment from periods of 3 to 10 years, fines of $1,000 to $5,000, or both.
Friday visits will be cancelled, effective Nov. 7, 2014 until further notice.
Exceptions will be made for the following Fridays, when visits will occur on their regular schedule: Nov. 28; Dec. 26; Jan 2.
Monday, Saturday and Sunday
8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Visitor registration begins at 8:30 a.m. and ends at 2:00 p.m.
Duration: 1 hour (subject to space availability)
8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. One (1), non-contact visit per week.
Harold E. Donnel Building and Emergency Housing (HED/EHU)
Saturday, Sunday, Monday
8:30 a.m. - 9:45 a.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Visitor registration begins at 8:30 a.m.- 9:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Beginning Sept. 12, MCTC will use SID numbers to determine weekend visits
Use of restroom facilities is prohibited during visitation. If either the inmate or a visitor requires the use of the restroom, the visit will be terminated at that time. Please keep this in mind when visiting with small children.
All visitors are subject to canine (if available), electronic drug detection device (if available), and/or visual mouth searches prior to being allowed to visit an inmate. If you cannot clear the metal detector, you will be denied entry. Nothing may be brought into the institution except as authorized by the warden or designee. Any item brought into this institution in a manner other than authorized is contraband, and the person bringing the item into the institution is subject to criminal penalties.
A visitor 16 years of age and older must present photograph identification.
Children (18 years of age and younger) visiting the inmate must be immediate family to either the inmate or the visitor and must be accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who is on the inmate's visiting list.
A maximum of two (2) visits per week and one (1) visit per day. During the week of an authorized State holiday, inmates may receive three (3) visits, providing one of the three visits occur on the holiday.
Each inmate is permitted up to three (3) adults and three (3) minor children. Segregation inmates are permitted up to two (2) visitors. Children must be supervised by the adult visitors.
Visits on weekends will be on a "digital" basis. Those inmates with SID numbers ending in even digits (0-2-4-6-8) may receive visits on even numbered dates.
Those inmates with SID numbers ending in odd digits (1-3-5-7-9) may receive visits on odd numbered dates.
During the month where both weekend dates are odd numbered, such at 31st and 1st, inmates may receive a visit one of these days, but not both days.
Protective Custody inmates shall be afforded visiting considerations similar to general population unless otherwise stipulated by the warden.
Visitors shall remove jewelry, to include tongue, ear, and facial piercings, with the exception of wedding ring sets or medic alert jewelry and store them in the lockers that are provided.
Phone: (240) 420-1601
Fax: (301) 797-8574
J. Philip Morgan
Jacquelene A. Shank
Chief of Security:
Medium, Minimum and Pre-Release
Year Opened: 1966
Visitor Dress Code
All visitors, to include children, must dress appropriately for visitation. All clothing must cover from the neck to the kneecaps.
- The following types of clothing are not allowed to be worn:
- tube tops, tank tops, or halter tops
- see-through clothing
- mini-skirts, mini-dresses, shorts, skorts, or culottes (at or above the kneecap)
- form-fitting clothes such as leotards, spandex, and leggings
- clothes that expose a person's midriff, side, or back
- tops or dresses that have revealing necklines and/or excessive splits
- coats, jackets, shawls and scarves will be placed in an appropriate area.