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Maryland Sex Offender Registry Frequently Asked Questions

1. Who Must Register?
o Individuals convicted by a court of law of a sexual offense must register. The term
and category of registration depends on the crime of conviction, the age of the victim
and the date that the offense was committed.

"Convicted" means when the person:
(1) Is found guilty of a crime by a jury or judicial officer;

(2) Enters a plea of guilty or nolo contendere;

(3) Is granted a probation before judgment after a finding of guilt for a crime if the
court, as a condition of probation, orders
compliance with the requirements of this subtitle; or

(4) Is found not criminally responsible for a crime.

2. How are sex offenders classified?

There are three tiers, based upon an offender's risk of committing another sex crime and harm
to the community: Tier I, Tier Il, and Tier Il1.

o Tier I - These registrants have been convicted in Maryland of a crime listed below or
convicted in another jurisdiction of a Tier | offense and have a statutory obligation to
register. Victim age is irrelevant except where specifically noted. These registrants
register for 15 years.

=  4th Degree Sex Offense - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-308 or Art. 27 § 464C

=  Visual Surveillance with Prurient Intent- Criminal Law Article, 8 3-902 or Art.
27 8 579B

=  Possession of Child Pornography - Criminal Law Article, § 11-208 or Art. 27 §
419B

= Engaging in lllicit Conduct in Foreign Places - 18 USC § 2423(c)

=  Failure to File Factual Statement About an Alien Individual - 18 USC § 2424

= Misleading Domain Names on the Internet - 18 USC § 2252B

= Misleading Words or Digital Images on the Internet - 18 USC 8§ 2252C

=  Sex Trafficking by Force, Fraud or Coercion - 18 USC § 1591

=  Transmitting Information About a Minor to Further Criminal Sexual Conduct -
USC § 2425

=  Travel w/Intent to Engage in lllicit Conduct -18 USC § 2423(b)

= Attempts or conspiracies to commit any of the above offenses
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o Tier II - These registrants have been convicted in Maryland of a crime listed below or
convicted in another jurisdiction of a Tier Il offense and have a statutory obligation to
register. Victim age is irrelevant except where specifically noted. These registrants
register for 25 years.

=  Abduction of a Child under16 for Prostitution - Criminal Law Article, 8 11-305
or Art. 27 8 1

= Distribution, Manuf. and Transp. of Child Pornography - Criminal Law Article, §
11-207or Art. 27 8§ 419A

= Hiring a Minor for a Prohibited Purpose - Criminal Law Article, § 11-209 or Art.
27 8 420

= House of Prostitution (Victim under 18) - Criminal Law Article, 8 11-306 or Art.
27 8431

= Human Trafficking (Victim under 18) - Criminal Law Article, 8 11-303 or Art.
27 8 428

= Sale of a Minor - (Victim age 14, 15, 16, 17) Criminal Law Article, 8 3-603 or
Art. 27 8 35E

=  Sexual Conduct between a Correctional or DJS employee and an inmate or
confined child (Victim age 14, 15, 16, or 17) Criminal Law Article, § 3-314 or
Art. 27 8 464G

= 3rd Degree Sex Offense - (Sexual act) -(Victim age 14 or 15 and Offender is
age 21 or older) - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-307(A)(4) or Art. 27 § 464B (4)

= 3rd Degree Sex Offense — (Vaginal Intercourse)- (Victim age 14 or 15 and
Offender is age 21 or older)-Article, 8 3-307(A)(5) or Art. 27 8 464B (5)

=  Sexual Solicitation of a Minor - Criminal Law Article, § 3-324

= A registrant with two Tier | convictions must register in the Tier Il category

=  Attempts or conspiracies to commit any of the above offenses

Tier III - These registrants have been convicted in Maryland of a crime listed below
or convicted in another jurisdiction of a Tier Ill offense and have a statutory obligation
to register. Victim age is irrelevant except where specifically noted. These registrants
register for life.

=  Assault with Intent to Rape, or Sexually Abuse - Art. 27 § 12A

=  Child Kidnapping - Under the age of 12 or Abduction of a Child under 12 -
Criminal Law Article, 8 3-503 or Art. 2788 2, an 338

=  Continuing Course of Conduct with a Child - Criminal Law Article, § 3-315

=  False Imprisonment of a Minor - Common Law

=  Forcible Sodomy - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-321 or Art. 27 8§ 553

= Incest - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-323 or Art. 27 § 335

= Kidnapping of an Adult-if the offense is sexual in nature - Criminal Law Article,
§ 3-502 or Art. 27 § 337

=  Murder w/ intent to Rape, Sexually Offend, or Sexually Abuse a Minor -
Criminal Law Article, 8§ 2-201(a)(4)(viii), (x), or (xi) or Art. 27 § 410

Maryland Sex Offender Registry Frequently Asked Questions 2



= 1st Degree Rape - Criminal Law Article, § 3-303 or Art. 27 § 462

= 2nd Degree Rape - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-304 or Art. 27 § 463

=  Sexual Abuse of a Minor - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-602

= Sale of a Minor —Victim less than 14 years old - Criminal Law Article, § 3-603
or Art. 27 § 35E

= 1st Degree Sex Offense - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-305 or Art. 27 § 464

= 2nd Degree Sex Offense - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-306 or Art. 27 § 464A

= 3rd Degree Sex Offense - (force, threat, weapon or incapacitation) — Criminal
Law Article, 8 3-307(a)(1) or Art. 27 8§ 464B(a)(1)

= 3rd Degree Sex Offense - (victim who is mentally defective or incapacitated, or
physically incapacitated) - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-307(a)(2) or Art. 27 §
464B(a)(2)

= 3rd Degree Sex Offense (Victim less than 14) - Criminal Law Article, 8§ 3-
307(a)(3) or Art. 27 § 464B(a)(3)

=  Sexual Conduct between a Correctional or DJS employee and an inmate or
confined child (Victim less than 14) - Criminal Law Article, § 3-314 or Art. 27 §

464G

=  Forcible Unnatural or Perverted Practice - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-322 or Art.
27 § 554

= Attempted 1st Degree Rape - Criminal Law Article, § 3-309 or Art. 27 §
464F(b)

= Attempted 2nd Degree Rape - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-310 or Art. 27 §
464F(a)

= Attempted Sex Offense 1lst Degree - Criminal Law Article, § 3-311 or Art. 27 §
464F(b)

= Attempted Sex Offense 2nd Degree - Criminal Law Article, 8 3-312 or Art. 27 §
464F(a)

=  Attempts or conspiracies to commit any of the above offenses
= A registrant with two Tier Il convictions, or a Tier | and Tier Il convictions,

must register in the Tier 11l category
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3. When Does Registration Occur?

o All registrants must register with a supervising authority or with the designated local
law enforcement unit.
= Tier | Registrants must register in person every 6 months
= Tier Il Registrant must register in person every 6 months
= Tier Il Registrants must register in person every 3 months

All registrants must initially register with a supervising authority or with the
designated local law enforcement unit within:

= 3 days of release to community supervision from the court
=  Prior to release from a correctional facility
= 3 days of ending permanent residency in Maryland
o Different states have different lengths of sex offender registration. Maryland has three
(3) lengths of registration: 15 years, 25 years, and life. The length of registration is
determined by the sex offender's conviction. For Maryland convictions the chart in
question 1 explains which convictions carries what length of registration.

Tier 111 = Lifetime Registration
Tier 1l = 25 Years
Tier | = 15 Years

= Successful completion community supervision;

=  Successful completion of a sex offender treatment program;

= No convictions for any sex offense; and

= No convictions for any crime with a potential penalty of more than 1 year.

Non-resident registrants who are working or attending school in Maryland must
register for the period of time specified for the category of registration, or until the
registrant's employment or student enrollment in Maryland ends (if that occurs before
termination of the registration period).

4. Why Would a Registrant Be Removed from the Sex Offender Registry?
o Death - Upon receipt of a death notice for a registrant from a designated local law
enforcement unit, supervising authority, or other official source, the registrant’s name

and other identifying information is removed from the registry.

Relocation - When a registrant moves out-of-state, the name is removed from the
registry and the central registry in the new State is notified.
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Expiration of Registration - When a registrant’'s term of registration is completed
the name and other identifying information is removed from the registry.

Pardon, Expungement or Overturned Conviction - If a registrant is able to get a
pardon, an expungement, or have the qualifying conviction overturned the name and
other identifying information is removed from the registry.

What Does a Registration Statement Contain?

o A registrant's public registration statement contains the following information:

= Name, address, and age

= Photograph

= Place of employment or school

= Place of enrollment or employment at an Institution of Higher Education in
Maryland

= Registration Category: Tier I, Il, or Il

= Term of registration: 15 years, 25 years, or Lifetime

= Residency Information - Maryland resident or non-resident (student or worker)

= A legal description of crime or crimes committed by registrant

= A plain language description of the crime or crimes committed by the
registrant

= Dates of conviction

= Aliases

= Vehicle information (vehicle make, model and color; and license plate)

= Conviction Jurisdiction (location of the state, federal, military, or tribal court

where convicted and sentenced)
5. What Happens If a Registrant Changes Address?

o If the registrant changes address, including moving out of state, he or she is required
to notify the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services in writing within
three (3) days.

If the registrant appropriately notifies the Department or the law enforcement agency
where he or she has been habitually living, the Maryland Sex Offender Registry
(MDSORU) will notify the new county's local law enforcement unit, the SOR unit in the
new state of residence, or the designated federal unit if the registrant's conviction
occurred in a federal, military, or Native American tribal court law.

If the registrant does not notify either the Department of the local law enforcement

agency a warrant for his or her arrest will be issued and is subject to penalties under
the Criminal Procedure Article § 11-721, Annotated Code of Maryland. The MDSORU
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may also contact the U.S. Marshal's if it is believed the registrant absconded to
another state.

6. What Happens If a Registrant Doesn't Register?

o If a sex offender knowingly fails to register, change his or her address or fails to
provide a change as directed is subject to the penalties under Criminal Procedure
Article, 811-721, Annotated Code of Maryland.

The law states that a registrant who knowingly fails to register, fails to provide notice
of change of address, change of enrollment or employment at a Maryland Institution of
Higher Education, or who knowingly provides false information may be found guilty of
a misdemeanor and may be subject to imprisonment for up to three years or a fine of
up to $5,000 or both.

7. What are a Registrant’'s Responsibilities?

o Each Maryland registrant is required to sign a "Notice of Responsibilities™ Form every
time he or she registers. The following is a list of registrant responsibilities:

= You must register every address and physical location where you
habitually live with your primary registration agency; and in each county where
you habitually live, you must notify the designated local law enforcement unit
that you habitually live in that county and provide the address or location.
Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(c)

= If you become homeless you must register once a week in person in each
county where you habitually live. Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(d)

= All changes in your residence, employment, telephone numbers,
internet identifiers, or vehicle information must be reported within 3 days
of the change to each designated local law enforcement unit where you
habitually live. Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(¢e)

= If you permanently move to another jurisdiction or foreign country you
must, 3 days prior to the change: 1) provide the new address, copies of
passports, tickets, and travel itineraries to your primary registration agency; 2)
register with the designated law enforcement agency of the new jurisdiction; and
3) comply with any registration requirements in the new jurisdiction of
residence. Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(h); § 11-705(e); § 11-705(c)(2).

= If you temporarily change residence for 5 or more days; or are absent
from where you habitually live for more than 7 days, including travel
for business or pleasure you must: 1) notify, in writing, each designated
local law enforcement unit where you habitually live of your
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absence from the locations where you habitually live; 2) provide the
addresses and locations of your temporary residences; and 3) provide the
dates that you will be absent from the locations where you habitually live.
Copies of travel documents may be requested by law enforcement personnel.
Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(i) & § 11-705(c)(2).

= If you begin employment or enroll in a school in another jurisdiction
while maintaining residence in Maryland, you must also register with the
designated law enforcement agency in the new jurisdiction. Criminal
Procedure Article, § 11-705(f)(1)

= If you begin or terminate enrollment or employment at an institution
of higher education in the State, you must notify the designated local law
enforcement unit where the institution of higher education is located, in
person, 3 days after beginning or terminating enrollment or employment.
Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(f)(2)

= If you establish a new e-mail address, computer login or screen name or
identity, instant-message identity or electronic chat room identity shall send
written notice of the new information to the MD State Sex Offender Registry
within 3 days of the change. Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-705(j)

= You may not knowingly enter onto real property (1) that is used for
public or nonpublic elementary or secondary education; or (2) on which is
located: (i) a registered Child Care Home or (ii) Child Care Institution. A
person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction
is subject to imprisonment not exceeding five years or a fine not exceeding
$5,000 or both. (Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-722)

= If you are granted a legal change of nhame by a court, you must send
written notice of the change within 3 days to each designated local law
enforcement unit where you habitually live. Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-
705(g)

8. What About Individuals Who Move into Maryland?

o A person who moves to Maryland and has an obligation to register as a sex offender in
another state must register here in Maryland.

A person who moves to Maryland and was convicted of an offense that in another
state that constitutes a registerable crime in Maryland must also register.

Sex offenders subject to the Criminal Procedure Article, 8§ 11-701--11-722,
Annotated Code of Maryland, who move into Maryland must register within three (3)
days of establishing a temporary or permanent residence in Maryland, or applying for
a driver's license in this state, whichever occurs earlier.
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9. Do Non-Residents Have to Register?

o A person who is a resident of another state where he or she is required to register and
who enters Maryland for the purpose of employment or attending school must register
within three (3) days of beginning employment or registering as a student.

Employment includes working or "carrying on a vocation,"” and may be full time or
part time for a sequential period of the time in Maryland exceeding fourteen (14) days
or for an aggregate period of the time in Maryland exceeding thirty (30) days during
any calendar year. The employment or vocation may be financially compensated,
volunteered, or for the purpose of government or educational benefit.

Attending school includes full-time or part-time attendance at any public or private
educational institution, including any secondary school, trade, or professional
institution, or institution of higher education.

10. Who Are the "Supervising Authorities"?

o "Supervising authorities" include:
= The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, specifically:

1. Division of Parole and Probation, for registrants who are under parole
or probation supervision, or who are new residents or non-residents;
and

2. Patuxent Institution and the Division of Correction, for registrants who
are incarcerated in a state correctional facility.

= The courts, for certain registrants granted probation before judgment,
probation after judgment, a suspended sentence, or a sentence without a term
of incarceration.

= Local or regional detention centers, for registrants who are incarcerated
locally; and

= The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, for registrants in the custody
of a DHMH facility.
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11. What Does "Release" Mean in This Law?

o "Release" means any type of release from the custody of a supervising authority,
including:
= Release on parole, mandatory supervision, work release, and any type of
temporary leave other than leave that is granted on an emergency basis.
= When a court grants probation before judgment or probation after judgment,
or when a court imposes a suspended sentence or a sentence without a period
of incarceration.

= Release does not include an escape from an institution.

All sex offenders must register PRIOR to release from any correctional facility.

12. Who May Obtain Registration Statements or Registration Information?

o Any member of the public may obtain a copy of an offender’s registration statement as
governed by State and Federal law. Maryland's law provides for the automatic
dissemination of registration information. Copies of registration statements will
include the registrant's photograph but will not include fingerprints, social security
number, victim information, or any other information prohibited from disclosure under
the law.

The registrant's victim, or the parent or legal guardian of a victim who is a minor, is
entitled to automatic notification. (Note: a victim who has filed a notification request
form under Criminal Procedure Article, 8 11-104, need not make a separate written
request for a copy of the registrant's registration statement.)

Designated local law enforcement units must also send a copy of a registration
statement to an individual who makes a written request.

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services may also send a copy of a
registration statement or a copy of the central registry, in whole or in part (by zip code
or county) to an individual who makes a written request. Address correspondence to:

Sex Offender Registry Unit
P.O. Box 5743

Pikesville, MD 21282-5743
Telephone: 410-585-3600
Fax: 410-653-5690

Email: Sex Offender Registry Website Response
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13. Are There Any Restrictions on Where a Sex Offender Can Live?

No, Maryland does not have any residency restrictions. Information put out by other
states has shown that residency restrictions do not help to prevent sexual offenses
from occurring because the victims and the offenders, in most situations, know each
other. Having ready access to victims, in private and secretive environments, is how
sex offenders thrive.

Some states, such as lowa and Florida, have found that residency restrictions can
make it very difficult to track sex offenders who have become homeless. Homeless
sex offenders are also more difficult to register and without an address, the registry is
unable to tell the public where the offender lives. Homeless sex offenders are better
able to operate in private and secretive environments. By registering a sex offender
with a valid address the police, the Sex Offender Registry and the community are all
better able to make sure that offender is not able to re-offend.

14. How do I contact the Maryland Sex Offender Registry?

Sex Offender Registry Unit

P.O. Box 5743

Pikesville, MD 21282-5743

Telephone: 410-585-3600

Fax: 410-653-5690

Email: Sex Offender Registry Website Response

Maryland Sex Offender Registry Frequently Asked Questions 10


mailto:websiteresponse@dpscs.state.md.us

	1. Who Must Register?
	2. How are sex offenders classified?
	3. When Does Registration Occur?
	4. Why Would a Registrant Be Removed from the Sex Offender Registry?
	5. What Happens If a Registrant Changes Address?
	6. What Happens If a Registrant Doesn't Register?
	7. What are a Registrant's Responsibilities?
	8. What About Individuals Who Move into Maryland?
	9. Do Non-Residents Have to Register?
	10. Who Are the "Supervising Authorities"?
	11. What Does "Release" Mean in This Law?
	12. Who May Obtain Registration Statements or Registration Information?
	13. Are There Any Restrictions on Where a Sex Offender Can Live?
	14. How do I contact the Maryland Sex Offender Registry?



