Community Presentation

Criminal Injuries Compensation Board

(En Español)

The Criminal Injuries Compensation Board (CICB) is a remedial body designed to provide aid and assistance to victims of crime in Maryland. Our statutory authority shall be construed in all circumstances to remedy the harm to the victim and in favor of eligibility for the victim or claimant. To begin a claim, please print a claim application here. Spanish application/Aplicación en Español

Services:

Claims Examination

  • Efficient processing of claims
  • Debt intervention and negotiation
  • Emergency and supplemental awards
  • Interpretation services

Victim Advocacy

  • Compassionate listening
  • Application assistance
  • Status updates
  • Resource referrals
  • Collaboration between involved parties
  • Hearing notification and accompaniment
  • Community education and outreach

Frequently Asked Questions for Victims

Who is eligible for compensation?

  • Person who suffers physical injury as a result of a crime or delinquent act;
  • Surviving spouse or child of a homicide victim;
  • Person who assumed responsibility for the funeral expenses of a homicide victim;
  • Person who was dependant on the homicide victim for principal support;
  • Person who was dependant on the perpetrator of the violence for principal support;
  • Person who suffers from psychological injury as the result of certain offenses; and
  • Person who suffers injury while trying to prevent a crime, apprehend a suspect or assist a law enforcement officers in the course of the officer’s official duties.

What is reimbursable?

  • Medical expenses related to physical injury;
  • Expenses for psychological injury incurred as the result of certain offenses;
  • Loss of earnings which are directly related to the victim’s inability to work following the crime or victim’s principal financial support being unable to work;
  • Total or partial, permanent or temporary, disability;
  • Funeral expense in the case of a homicide;
  • Loss of support or dependency when a homicide victim was providing support to the claimant; and
  • Other expenses as approved by the Board.

What must a victim do to qualify for compensation?

  • Unless good cause is shown, report the crime to appropriate authorities within 48 hours of the crime occurring; and
  • Have incurred at least $100 in reimbursable expenses.

What makes a victim ineligible for compensation?

  • Substantial evidence suggests the victim caused, provoked or contributed to the crime that caused the injury; and
  • Unless good cause is shown, failing to cooperate with authorities to whom the victim reported the initial crime.

Junta de Compensación de Daños Penales

La Junta de Compensación de Daños Penales (Criminal Injuries Compensation Board - CICB) es un organismo remedial diseñado para brindar ayuda y asistencia a víctimas del crimen en Maryland. Nuestra autoridad legal debe ser interpretada en toda circunstancia para reparar el daño a la víctima y a favor de la elegibilidad para la víctima o demandante. La aplicación en Español

Servicios:

Examen de Demandas

  • Procesamiento eficiente de las demandas
  • Intervención y negociación de deudas
  • Adjudicaciones de emergencia y complementarias
  • Servicios de interpretación

Defensoría de las Víctimas

  • Escucha compasiva
  • Asistencia para solicitudes
  • Actualizaciones de estatus
  • Remisiones a recursos
  • Colaboración entre partes involucradas
  • Notificación y acompañamiento a las audiencias
  • Educación y difusión comunitaria

Preguntas Frecuente de las Victimas

¿Quién es elegible para compensación?

  • La persona que sufre lesiones físicas como resultado de un crizmen o acto delincuencial;
  • Cónyuge o hijo(a) superviviente de una víctima de homicidio;
  • Persona que asumió la responsabilidad por los gastos funerarios de una víctima de homicidio;
  • Persona dependiente de la víctima de un homicidio para su sostenimiento principal;
  • Persona dependiente del autor material de la violencia para su sostenimiento principal;
  • Persona que sufre lesión sicológica como resultado de ciertos delitos; y
  • Persona que sufre una lesión tratando de evitar un crimen, aprehender a un sospechoso o ayudar a funcionarios de las autoridades policivas y judiciales en el curso de los deberes oficiales del funcionario.

¿Qué es reembolsable?

  • Gastos médicos relacionados con lesiones físicas;
  • Gastos por lesiones sicológicas incurridas como resultado de ciertos delitos;
  • Lucro cesante directamente relacionado con la incapacidad de la víctima para trabajar después del crimen o con que el sostén financiero principal de la víctima no pueda trabajar;
  • Incapacidad total o parcial, permanente o temporal;
  • Gastos funerarios en caso de un homicidio;
  • Pérdida de sostenimiento o dependencia cuando la víctima de un homicidio se hacía cargo del sostenimiento del demandante; y
  • Otros gastos que apruebe la Junta.

¿Qué debe hacer una víctima para clasificar para compensación?

  • A no ser que se muestre justificación válida, reportar el crimen a las autoridades competentes dentro de las 48 horas siguientes a la ocurrencia del crimen; y
  • Haber incurrido en al menos $100 en gastos reembolsables.

¿Qué hace que una víctima no sea elegible para compensación?

  • Evidencia sustancial que sugiera que la víctima causó, provocó o contribuyó con el crimen que causó la lesión; y
  • A no ser que se muestre justificación válida, el no cooperar con las autoridades ante quienes la víctima reportó el crimen inicial.

Contact Us

Criminal Injuries Compensation Board
410-585-3010
888-679-9347
6776 Reisterstown Road,
Suite 206
Baltimore, MD 21215