Who May File A Claim?

- 1. A person who suffers physical injury as a result of a crime.
- 2. A surviving spouse or child of a homicide victim.
- 3. Any other person who is dependent for principal support from a homicide victim.
- 4. Any person who assumed responsibility for funeral expenses of a homicide victim.

- 4. YOU MUST PROVE YOUR CLAIM. You are responsible for providing proof that a crime occurred and evidence of non-reimbursed medical expenses. Failure to do so will delay processing your claim.
- 5. You must cooperate with law enforcement agencies and the Board.

What Must I Do To Qualify?

- 1. You must report the crime to police within 48 hours and file your claim within 180 days. (This requirement may be waived for good cause up to two years, three years for crimes after October 1, 2004) In cases of child abuse, the claim must be filed within two years after the crime was discovered.
- 2. You must have incurred at least \$100 in out-of-pocket expenses or lost at least two continuous weeks' earnings.
- 3. You may not be eligible for compensation if you caused, provoked or contributed to the incident that caused your injury.

How Do I File A Claim?

- 1. All questions must be answered.
- 2. Type or print with a ballpoint pen.
- 3. The last page must be signed and dated. You must include the police complaint number. If you do not do so, the claim form will be returned to you.
- 4. If the victim is under 18, the claim form must be signed by a parent or guardian.

What is the maximum award?

Medical Expenses up to	\$45,000
Disability up to	\$25,000
Funeral Expenses up to	\$5,000
Total Dependency up to	\$25,000
Partial Dependency up to	\$17,500
Counseling up to	\$5,000
Crime Scene Clean Up	\$250

Some limitations may apply. The maximum allowable award in any claim is \$45,000.00.

For crimes committed after October 1, 2003:

Parents of minor children who are victims may claim up to 30 days of lost wages as a result of caring for the child.

Victims suffering a total, permanent disability may apply for an additional \$25,000.

For crimes committed after October 1, 2004:

Emergency awards will increase to \$2000.

Life insurance proceeds up to \$25,000 will not be deducted from an award.

The Board is required to deduct from your award any amount you have received from any other source as a result of the crime.

THE BOARD CANNOT MAKE AN AWARD FOR PAIN AND SUFFERING OR LOSS OF PERSONAL PROPERTY.

The Maryland Criminal Injuries Compensation provides Board financial assistance for innocent victims of crime. The Board may compensate victims who suffer from physical injury by helping with medical expenses and by providing payment for part of their lost wages. In cases of homicide, the Board may assist with funeral expenses and lost support for the victim's dependents.

Auxiliary Aids and Services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. This form is also available in Spanish.

Criminal Injuries Compensation Board
Suite 206, Plaza Office Center
6776 Reisterstown Road
Baltimore, MD 21215
Fax 410-764-3815
410-585-3010 or 888-679-9347
TTY/TDD 1-800-735-2258
(Maryland Relay Service)
http://www.dpscs.state.md.us/victim
servs/vs_cicb.shtml

State of Maryland
Department of Public Safety
And
Correctional Services

Martin O'Malley
Governor

Anthony G. Brown *Lt. Governor*

Gary D. Maynard Secretary



Crime Victims Assistance



Maryland
Criminal Injuries
Compensation Board