***Check the DPSCS Home Page for any last minute notifications***
Handgun Permit Review Board
Upon appointment of the Handgun Permit Review Board, the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services will begin scheduling hearings. You will be contacted concerning your individual case hearing. An updated schedule of hearing dates will be posted on this page as they become available.
As of July 8th, 2019 the Handgun Permit Review Board (HPRB) meets at The Fifth Regiment Armory, 219 29th Division Street, Baltimore, MD 21201. Meetings are scheduled to begin at 6:00 pm on the following dates:
Meeting Dates 2019
January 8, 22
February 5, 19
March 5, 19
June 17 – Public Meeting
July 8, 15, 22, 29
August 5, 12, 19 and 26
September 9, 16, 23 and 30
October 7, 21 and 28
November 4 and 25
December 2, 9, 16, 23
*additional meeting dates will be posted as they become available*
The Honorable Frederic N. Smalkin - Chairman
James L. Ballard, Jr. - Board Member
Jacques R. Cowan - Board Member
Daniel F.C. Crowley - Board Member
Nicholas J. Paros - Board Member
Michael H. Stelmack, Executive Director
James S. Pasko, Assistant Attorney General
F. Todd Taylor, Jr., Executive Director
Stevi Ambrose, Administrator
The Handgun Permit Review Board (HPRB) was established in 1972 (Chapter 13, Acts of 1972) to review Maryland State Police decisions regarding handgun permits. A handgun permit application can be obtained from State Police by clicking the following link:
Any person whose application for a handgun permit, or renewal of a permit, has been rejected or limited, or whose permit has been revoked may ask the board to review the decision of the Superintendent of the Maryland State Police. The board can sustain, reverse, or modify the decision of the Superintendent based on a hearing conducted to establish the facts.
The Handgun Permit Review Board meets every Monday of each month at 6 p.m. at The Fifth Regiment Armory, 219 29th Division Street, Baltimore, MD 21201. Be advised that a part or all of any meeting of the Handgun Permit Review Board may be conducted in closed session pursuant to law.
The Governor appoints the board's five members from the general public to three-year terms, with the advice and consent of the Senate (Public Safety Article, §5-302).
MD State Police’s Informal Review
A person who is denied a permit to carry, wear, or transport a handgun (“permit”), renewal of a permit, or whose permit is revoked or issued with restrictions by the Secretary of the State Police (“Secretary”) may request the Secretary of the State Police to conduct an informal review by filing a written request within 10 days after receipt of written notice of the Secretary's initial action. A person need not file a request for an informal review before requesting review by the Handgun Permit Review Board (“Board”). A written request for informal review should be sent to: MD State Police, Licensing Division, 1111 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, MD 21208. Or you may call MSP Licensing at 410.653.4500 for more information.
Handgun Permit Review Board Review/Hearing
An individual has two methods of requesting a review/hearing from the Handgun Permit Review Board.
A person who is denied a permit, renewal of a permit, or whose permit is revoked or issued with restrictions by the Secretary of the State Police may request the Board to review the decision of the Secretary of the State Police by filing a written request within 10 days after receipt of written notice of the Secretary’s action. The written request for review by the Board should include a copy of the written notice of the Secretary’s action. All requests to the Board shall be in writing and shall be sent to: Handgun Permit Review Board, 6776 Reisterstown Road, Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21215.
A person whose application for a permit or renewal of a permit that is not acted upon by the Secretary within 90 days after submitting the application to the Secretary may request a hearing before the Board by filing a written request to the Board. All requests to the Board shall be in writing and shall be sent to: Handgun Permit Review Board, 6776 Reisterstown Road, Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21215.
Board’s Action Requirements
Within 90 days after receiving a request for a review/hearing of the Secretary’s (of the State Police) action, the Board, at its discretion, may choose either to:
- Review the record developed by the Secretary of the State Police; or
- Conduct a hearing.
Decisions of the Board are not final until a written signed decision is sent to the applicant or holder of the permit
HPRB Rules and Regulations
The following Rules and Regulations are hereby approved as of June 17th, 2019, after a public hearing held by the Maryland Handgun Permit Review Board:
Location and Time
Locations, dates, and times of Hearings will be determined by a quorum of the Board at its convince from time to time and timely notified to applicants and the public.
Rules and Regulations
- The burden of proof is on the Applicant pursuant to Maryland Government Article Code Ann. sec. 10-217 to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the Superintendent of the Maryland State Police (or his or her designee) has made an error in the disposition of the Applicant’s application for a Handgun Permit. The Applicant will present his or her case to the Board first, followed by representatives of the Superintendent. Time allowed for any Hearing presentation, including oral and/or demonstrative evidence and argument, will be timed and limited to 10 minutes, unless the Board allows a longer period in a particular case.
- The Board reserves the discretion to consider or not consider any evidence in accordance with Maryland Government Article Code Ann. sec. 10-213, except that under no circumstances will the Board consider irrelevant evidence.
- Although the Board may consider evidence proffered at the Hearing that was not presented by the Applicant to the Superintendent of the State Police or his or her designee in making a decision, in order to do so the Applicant must show by a clear and convincing explanation why the proffered evidence was not available to him or her during the Superintendent’s initial consideration of the permit application or during an Applicant’s request for reconsideration prior to filing with the Board (if there was such a request made).
- All persons giving oral testimony and/or presenting demonstrative evidence must swear or affirm as to the truth of the matters about to be brought before the Panel and advised that their testimony is subject to any applicable penalties of perjury if false.
- Failure of an Applicant to attend a duly notified, scheduled Hearing without having requested rescheduling as set forth below and without due cause may result in dismissal of the Application by the Board.
- Only one request for rescheduling a Hearing may be made, and it must be received by the Board at its published address not later than 13 calendar days from the date the Board’s notice of the Hearing was mailed to the Applicant. An emergency request for rescheduling may be made if there are exigent circumstances (e.g., hospitalization), supported by an affirmation before a Notary Public and mailed by U.S.P.S. express mail to the Board at its published address at least five calendar days prior to the scheduled Hearing.
- Failure of an Applicant to attend a rescheduled Hearing (other than an exigency as set forth above) will result in final dismissal of his or her request for relief, for lack of prosecution.
- In the event of death of an Applicant, it is the duty of any personal representative or trustee of the decedent’s estate to notify the Board of the Applicant’s demise with a suggestion of death so that the pending Application can be dismissed.
- The Board is not required at any Hearing, meeting, or otherwise to act en banc, but may perform any duty with the presence of a quorum.
- Decisions of the Board will not be reconsidered by it.
Any party aggrieved by this decision may file an appeal in writing within thirty days of the above date with the Licensing Division of the Maryland State Police, 1111 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, Md. 21208. The appeal will be heard by the Office of Administrative Hearings, 11101 Gilroy Road, Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031 pursuant to Maryland Rule 7-201 et. seq. and Section 5-312(e)(1) of the Public Safety Article. Failure to timely file the petition may result in a dismissal of the appeal.
The receipt of a decision letter is NOT the granting of a permit. Permits are issued by the MD State Police only, and unless an action for judicial review is initiated by either party, a permit shall be issued in due course from the MD State Police, when deemed appropriate.
No firearms allowed unless accompanied by a state-issued badge permitting the possession of handguns on state property or law enforcement officials on official duty.
Handgun Permit Review Board
6776 Reisterstown Road
Baltimore, MD 21215